REVIEW: Eyebrow pencil vs. eyebrow powder

LP Brow Artist Shaper

In today’s post, I will be writing about my review on L’Oreal Paris’ Brow Artist Shaper pencil and Soap & Glory’s Archery D-I-Y Brow Bar powder.


Just recently at the weekend, I purchased Soap & Glory’s Archery D-I-Y Brow Bar from my local Boots store as I had read pretty good reviews about it. Previous to this, I had been using L’Oreal Paris’ Brow Artist Shaper which I also purchased from Boots.

The L’Oreal Paris Brow Artist Shaper is a pencil with a coloured end and a clear wax end. The pencil also comes with a small brush to shape your eyebrows. I got mine in the colour ‘Blonde‘.

LP Brow Artist Shaper           LP Brow Artist Shaper (4)

LP Brow Artist Shaper (3)            LP Brow Artist Shaper (2)

LP Brow Artist Shaper (5)

The packaging to me is very plain and subtle but it still caught my attention when I purchased this in Boots.

Here is a photo of what my eyebrow looks like using this product –

LP Brow Artist Shaper eyebrow

I shaped my eyebrow first of all using the little brush and then went in with the coloured end. I used quite a heavy hand to apply this as I felt as though a light hand was no use as hardly any product was left on my eyebrow. Afterwards, I used the clear wax end to keep my hairs in place. The colour overall is pretty good I would say.


The Soap & Glory Archery D-I-Y Brow Bar is a powder product. It comes with a wax, a highlighter and two different coloured powders which are ‘Love is Blonde’ and ‘Hot Chocolate’. It also comes with two slanted brushes, one which has a little spoolie at one end.

S&G Brow Archery     S&G Brow Archery (2)

S&G Brow Archery (3)

The packaging definitely caught my eye as it is just typical Soap & Glory style – so colourful.

Here is a photo of what my eyebrow looks like using this product –

S&G Brow Archery eyebrow

I shaped my eyebrow first of all using the little spoolie brush. I then used the wax product on the slanted black brush and lightly brushed it through my hairs. After that, I used the golden coloured brush and chose to use the ‘Hot Chocolate’ colour. Again, I used a light hand to brush it through.


Overall, I do prefer Soap & Glory. I love the colour and it was so easy to use compared to the L’Oreal Paris product.

Well done Soap & Glory for creating this fab product!

Lisa signature

Facebook • Twitter • Instagram • Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Eyebrow pencil vs. eyebrow powder

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: NYX Tame and Frame Tinted Brow Pomade | Tempted By Makeup 💋

  2. I like how both products look on your brows! I do prefer powder brow products myself though, I feel like i have more control and it can look more ‘natural’ (i use that word loosely haha) than when i use pencils etc!
    tashaforrest.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s crazy the different L’Oréal products ya’ll have in the UK. I think they sell a similar eye brow pencil here, packaging is different though. At least Ulta is picking up a lot of UK based brands now I noticed. You’d think L’Oréal products would be the same though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

