Which primer is better? ft. Rimmel, Bourjois and L’Oreal

Primers

In today’s post, I will be writing about and comparing three primers and featuring swatches of them.


Back in the day, I didn’t know much about primers and what they did. If I remember correctly, it was my mum who introduced me to them when I started experimenting with makeup. Now I can’t live without them!

Here are the three primers I will be comparing –

Primers


The first one I will be writing about is the Rimmel London Fix & Perfect Pro primer. I hadn’t read any reviews about this product before I purchased it and it was the first one I seen in Boots. Infact, this was the very first primer I ever used.

Rimmel swatch

Product description – Skin-perfecting formula for 5-in-1 results: smoothes, resurfaces, brightens, mattifies and protects. Prolongs foundation wear. Apply to clean skin. Wear alone or under foundation.

I can definitely say that this primer does all 5. I felt as though it blurred out any spots before I had even put any foundation on. As you can see from the picture, the liquid is white in colour but goes on clear. It also has a pleasant smell (I’m a sucker for scents!). In the Boots store, this product retails at £6.99 which I think is good for the price.

Rating out of 10: 10.


The second primer I will be writing about is the Bourjois Paris Happy Light Luminous Serum Primer. For this one, I had read reviews about this and good ones at that and knew that I had to purchase it.

 Bourjois swatch

Product description – Its feather-light texture leaves skin soft and moisturised, with airbrush action. Illuminates and hydrates. For normal to dry skin.

I’m a big fan of this primer. I can confirm it does leave my skin soft, moisturised, illuminated and hydrated. You can get this primer in a matte form, which I did purchase before this, but it stuck to the dry areas of my face and looked very unpleasant! As you can see from the picture, the liquid is slightly pink in colour but again goes on clear. This also comes with another pleasant smell (yayyyy!). In the Boots store, it retails at £10.99. I know this is a bit pricey but it’s definitely worth the money.

Rating out of 10: 9.


The final primer I will be writing about is the L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique Pure Light primer. I had read good reviews about this product, especially from Chloe Morton (glitteralittle) on YouTube who is a big fan of it. From this, I knew I had to purchase it.

L'Oreal swatch

Product description – L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique Primer provides a light enriching base which illuminates the skin. Provides up to 8 hours of hydration.

It definitely does illuminate the skin and hydrates it too. As you can see from the picture, it is white in colour but yet again goes on clear. It has a slight shimmer in it too but don’t let this put you off as the shimmer actually leaves your face looking glowing and dewy. Be sure to shake it well though because if you don’t, it will come out watery. This primer works well with L’Oreal Paris’ Lumi Magique foundation which I also purchased when I got this. This primer doesn’t come with a smell, unlike the other two (sad face). In the Boots store, it retails at £9.99. Again, this is a bit pricey but I will definitely be repurchasing this product when it runs out.

Rating out of 10: 10.


Overall, my two favourite primers are obviously from Rimmel and L’Oreal Paris. Rimmel because it was the very first primer I ever bought and L’Oreal Paris because I love the finished look it gives after I’ve applied it under my foundation. I don’t think I’ll repurchase the Bourjois primer though, it is a bit pricey.

I hope this post has been beneficial to you all though!

What is your favourite primer? Let me know by leaving a comment.

Lisa signature

Facebook • Twitter • Instagram • Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

