REVIEW: L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique and Max Factor Skin Luminizer foundation

LP & MF foundation

In today’s blog post, I will be writing about L’Oreal Paris’ Lumi Magique foundation and Max Factor’s Skin Luminizer foundation and featuring two swatches of these.


Foundation is one of my holy grail products! I can’t live without the stuff. Well, I can (according to my The Power Of Makeup post) but it is nice to doll yourself up once in a while.

I had been using Max Factor’s Skin Luminizer foundation for what seemed like ages and felt that after a while, the shade that I had been using (‘Warm Almond‘) was slightly too dark for me. I did some research about another foundation and came across L’Oreal Paris’ Lumi Magique and off I went to Boots (as usual) and bought it. The shade that I had chosen was ‘Rose Pearl‘.

LP & MF foundation

As you can see from the picture, the two foundations come with a pump which I think is a god send! I prefer L’Oreal’s packaging as I think Max Factor’s is a bit plain and simple, which is not a bad thing by the way! But I prefer a product that stands out and catches my eye. I do, however, like the foundation design of Max Factor’s as it has white swirly lines throughout but this does not come out at the same time as the foundation. Infact, it doesn’t come out at all!

L'Oreal swatch (2)

I found that L’Oreal’s foundation is a bit watery if not shaken beforehand. Once I’ve shaken it and got a bit on the back of my hand, I’ve found that it’s quite a thin foundation. Saying that, it blends in really well and leaves my face looking the same colour as my neck, which is always a good thing! It also goes on well with L’Oreal’s Lumi Magique primer underneath. Both foundation and primer leave me looking dewy and healthy. This foundation gives an OK coverage but does need to be built up to give the desired look you’re going for.

Max Factor swatch

I’ve found with this Max Factor foundation that it is quite thick and therefore does not need shook before pumping some on to the back of my hand. It did blend in well but I felt as though it was slightly too dark for me. It gave a good coverage too because of the thickness of it.

** I do apologise for the lighting of these two swatches! It looks as though L’Oreal’s foundation is darker than Max Factor’s but it definitely is the complete opposite in person! **

Overall, I do prefer L’Oreal’s foundation. For the simple fact that it matches my skin perfectly and leaves me looking dewy and healthy.

Which foundation do you use and why do you like it? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Lisa signature

Facebook • Twitter • Instagram • Bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique and Max Factor Skin Luminizer foundation

  1. I thought the L’Oreal looked darker in the photo 😀
    It’s good that you found the right foundation for you. They say if your face turns darker after using a certain shade then that means you’re acidic. I’m not sure if your pH level changed..

    I use a mineral makeup brand from Australia called ELES Cosmetics for my base and I always love the matte effect. I just add a bit of an illuminator (also from the same brand) when I want to achieve a more dewy look. 🙂 ✽‿✽ ❤︎ laineyloveslife

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

