REVIEW: NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder

NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder (1)

In today’s blog post, I will be writing about my review on NYX’s HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder.

I will also be featuring what the product looks like and a swatch of it as well.


I was excited to find out that Boots are now stocking NYX cosmetics online! So of course I had to get on to my laptop straight away and do some ordering as I have never tried any NYX products before. I ordered a few things from NYX but today I’ll be talking about their HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder in the shade ‘Translucent‘ which retails at £8.00.

I currently use Rimmel’s Stay Matte pressed powder for an all over setting powder to keep my makeup in place. I love it dearly but fancied using another powder to set my under eye concealer. When I first came across NYX’s finishing powder, I initially thought it would brighten up my under eye concealer because of how white the powder was but as I read on, I realized that this was not the case.

NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder (1)

As most of you will know already, I’m a sucker for packaging; it’s what draws me to a product the majority of the time. It comes with a black lid which typically has the NYX logo on and the name of the actual product. The tub, if you want to call it that, itself is clear and you are able to see the powder inside it. Overall, the packaging is quite plain and simple.

NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder (2)

Upon opening the lid, I found that there is a clear coating inside the tub with the powder stored underneath it. There is a few small holes on the coating and it finally dawned on me that it was my job to pierce the holes with something sharp; I used a pair of scissors. Be careful though as the powder can be very messy, as I had found this out when I realized some of it ended up on my trousers! (HAHA!).

NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder swatch (2)   NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder swatch (1)

As you can see from the swatches above, the powder is very white. Don’t let this put you off though as once it is blended in, there is no white whatsoever. HOWEVER! be warned that if you put too much on, you don’t blend it in well and have your photo taken with the flash on, the powder will show up as you can see from the swatch. On another positive note, the powder itself is so soft and does not look or feel cakey on your face.


Product description (Boots website): “A miracle in a jar! This 100% pure mineral silica finishing powder is perfect for setting your foundation or wearing alone. The luminous white powder goes on neutral and works on all skin tones. It leaves your skin looking radiant and luminous. Best if used with the NYX B24 Kabuki Brush. Use lightly…a little goes a long way.”

It really is “a miracle in a jar!“. I’ve found that it sets my under eye concealer perfectly and it doesn’t budge. As it says in the description above, please only use a little as it really does go a long way.


This is a fantastic product and I will most definitely be purchasing this again when I run out of it. At only £8.00, you really can’t complain at that!

Well done NYX Cosmetics for creating such a fab product!

Do any of you use this finishing powder or would like to? Let me know by leaving a comment!

Lisa signature

Facebook • Twitter • Instagram • Bloglovin’

14 thoughts on “REVIEW: NYX HD Studio Photogenic Finishing Powder

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: NYX Tame and Frame Tinted Brow Pomade | Tempted By Makeup 💋

  2. Pingback: REVIEW: NYX Collection Noir Liquid Black Liner | Tempted By Makeup 💋

  3. I just recently tried the stay matte by Rommel and I’m loving it so far! But I am a complete sucker for translucent powders! I might have to try this one out ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a product similar to this, the make up forever loose setting powder and it does the same thing. You have to be soo careful you dont apply too much. when i first got it i went out with white circles under my eyes without realising! Haha! I might try the Nyx one though, it’ll be alot cheaper than buying a make up forever powder! Thanks for the review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

