Revlon ColorStay foundation | REVIEW

Revlon ColorStay foundation

Hello everyone and welcome to my first blog post of 2016! I’ve been really slacking lately due to other commitments but as I have some time off work this week, I thought that I had better update my blog.

In today’s blog post, I will be writing about my review on Revlon’s ColorStay foundation. I will also be featuring what the product looks like and a swatch of it as well.


For a while now, I had been using my trusty L’Oreal Lumi Magique foundation. I found that over time it wasn’t sitting on my skin as well as it used to and it kept rubbing off very easily. I then knew it was time to bite the bullet and invest in a new foundation.

I took myself to Twitter and got asking some of you guys what my best option would be on picking a new drugstore foundation. It was one of my boyfriend’s friends who tweeted me and said that I should give Revlon’s ColorStay foundation a try as it is medium to full coverage, which is what I was looking for, and that it lasts for a long time throughout the day.

Can you guess what I did next? Yep, that’s right – I took a trip in to Boots on my day off work and purchased that foundation. I chose the ‘Normal/Dry Skin‘ option in the shade ‘Ivory‘. It retails at £12.99 which I know might seem a little bit expensive for a drugstore foundation but I was willing to pay that.

Revlon ColorStay foundation

I really like the packaging of this product. It’s so sleek yet simple and has the description on the front of the bottle. It’s a glass bottle which I’ve never had before so I’ve been really careful to make sure I don’t drop it! The only problem I do have with it though is that it doesn’t come with a pump so it’s a case of pouring it on to the back of your hand. It can be a bit of a pain but I’ve gotten used to it.

I always use a brush to apply my foundation but I decided I’d like to try a sponge instead as I had heard and read that it gives a better finish. I popped in to Superdrug and picked up their own brand sponge – the ‘B. latex-free blending sponge‘ which retails at £4.99. I already use Real Techniques’ one for my concealer and wanted to purchase a different one.

B. blending sponge

Sorry if the sponge looks a bit dirty – I’ve already used it! But as you can see, I use the more fatter side to apply the foundation to my skin and the more pointier side to get in to the places that I can’t really get to. I highly recommend this sponge to anyone.

Revlon ColorStay foundation swatch

The consistency of this foundation is a little bit thin but it is easily buildable. The colour suits me really well which I’m very pleased about. I have found that it lasts all day and that I don’t need to apply a setting powder anymore to keep it in place. I’m also very happy with the coverage of it as it covers my problematic areas very well.

Overall, this foundation gets a 10/10 from me!


Have any of you tried Revlon’s ColorStay foundation or would like to? Let me know by leaving a comment!

Lisa signature

Facebook • Twitter • Instagram • Bloglovin’

 

 

10 thoughts on “Revlon ColorStay foundation | REVIEW

Leave a Reply

