Contouring with NYX ‘Taupe’ Powder Blush

Contouring with NYX 'Taupe' Powder Blush

In today’s blog post, I will be writing about my review and contouring experience with NYX’s Powder Blush in the shade ‘Taupe’.

I will also be featuring what the product looks like and what it’s like once applied to the skin.



To start off with, this post ties in with last week’s post about the NARS Ita Brush as I’ll be using this brush to contour with this product.

For a while now, I had been using my trusty Benefit Hoola Bronzer to contour with. As much as I loved it, I started to notice more and more than it was a little too orange for my skin tone – I’m quite pale but not too much. I decided that it was best to purchase something a little more natural looking.

I had read that one of NYX’s Powder Blushes was great for contouring with and that was in the shade ‘Taupe’. I had a little browse on Google to see what it looked like and I was instantly impressed with the colour. I purchased it from Amazon and it retails at £7.84 – bargain!

NYX 'Taupe' Powder Blush (1)

The packaging isn’t that much of a ‘wow’ factor, in my opinion. It’s pretty basic. As you can see, the majority of it is black and clear, with the little window showing you the colour of the product. It also has the typical NYX logo and what the product is.

NYX 'Taupe' Powder Blush (2)

Having a closer look at the product with the lid open, you can see just how gorgeous this colour is. The pattern of the blush is quilt-like. I don’t think I’ll ever wear this as an actual blush as it is slightly dark for me to put all over my cheeks. However, I was excited to try it out as a contour colour.

NYX 'Taupe' Powder Blush swatch

Even with a swatch of it on my hand, the colour to me is perfect. It’s not orange at all and would be perfect to create those shadows to define your cheekbones.

NARS Ita Brush

I’m using my NARS Ita Brush here to contour. As you can see, the brush itself fits perfectly where my cheekbones are. The bristles aren’t tightly packed which means I can move the brush back and forth so easily.

NYX 'Taupe' Powder Blush makeup look

This is the end result of using the NYX Powder Blush and the NARS Ita Brush. I’m totally in love with the colour and how well the brush has done it’s job right. The colour is really subtle and I like that because I wasn’t wanting something that was dark and made it look as though I had dark streaks on my face. You can obviously build the colour up if you want to but if you’re too heavy handed with it, it will turn out really dark.


Do any of you use this powder blush for contouring or would like to? Let me know by leaving a comment!

Lisa signature 2016

Facebook · Twitter · Instagram · Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “Contouring with NYX ‘Taupe’ Powder Blush

  1. Great post. I will have to put this on my wishlist as it’s always good to have a reliable drugstore contour. At the moment I’m loving my Kat Von D contour palette but cheaper alternatives are always welcome!
    Lucie xo | lucieleannexo.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

