Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder Review

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder Review

In this week’s blog post, I will be reviewing the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Power.

I will also be featuring what the product looks like and a swatch of it as well.


I was never really one for using a setting powder to set my concealer under my eyes and on my T-zone. I had tried and tested so many face powders in general but hadn’t found the perfect one for me. It wasn’t until I read a few blog posts about the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder that I wanted to try it out for myself.

I had a look online and came across it on Feel Unique’s website. It retails at £29.00 which I know is expensive for a powder! But I was in the mood for treating myself, so I went ahead and bought it. It comes in a 29g tub which I thought wasn’t that bad for the price.

You can read the full product description here.

DSCN0097

I’ve always found this packaging to be quite luxurious looking. It has a bit of a plastic feel to it but sturdy as well. I like the fact that it has the ‘Laura Mercier’ logo on the lid rather than on the actual tub itself.

DSCN0105

When you look underneath the tub, you’ll see a bit more of the details e.g. the weight, how many months you can keep it for, what the actual product is etc. Again, I like how this is on the bottom of the tub rather than around it.

DSCN0098

I was a little bit skeptical at first when I saw the powder as I was expecting it to be lighter in colour. It made me wonder how it would look once I had applied it to my face. You do get a lot of product coming out of the little holes and I’ve found it to be REALLY messy, so be careful when tipping any out and applying.

DSCN0101

You can see more closely here what the colour of the product is like; it’s quite beige. Apart from that, it’s very soft in texture and very fine too.

DSCN0104

Here is the powder blended in to the back of my hand. I was so glad to see that it does basically go translucent, just like it says on the tub. I would advise not to apply too much to the face though as you may end up with a white flashback in any photo that has the flash on. I just lightly dust it when setting my concealer. It really does help with keeping my concealer in place.

Overall, I do like this powder. This is the only one I’ve been using since I bought it. As for repurchasing, I probably would but I might try a cheaper alternative too.


I hope you enjoyed reading this week’s blog post and please leave me a comment to let me know if you use this powder or you would like to.

Lisa signature 2016

Facebook · Twitter · Instagram · Bloglovin’ · YouTube

4 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder Review

  1. Pingback: Featured: Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder Review — Tempted By Makeup – Nelly's Beautypedia

Leave a Reply

