Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review

img_6950

In this week’s blog post, I will be reviewing the Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara.

I will also be featuring what the product looks like and before and after application pictures of it on my eyelashes.


I always find myself drifting back to drugstore mascaras. It’s no secret that mascara is my all time favourite makeup product and I’ve probably spent most of my money buying multiple tubes of it. I really needed wanted a new mascara and so I found myself drawn to Maybelline’s makeup counter when I was in town.

I had already browsed the Boots website for a new mascara beforehand and so I knew what I was going for. I picked up Maybelline’s The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara and instantly purchased it. I noticed that there are different types of The Colossal Volum’ Express mascaras and so I chose the ‘Smoky Eyes’ version (I’ve had this one in the past and loved it!). It retails at £7.99 which I think is an absolute bargain for a mascara that you know will work like a treat.

You can read the full product description here.

dscn0242

dscn0241

dscn0243

The packaging of this mascara is so eye-catching and it definitely draws you in. I think the yellow and black really do compliment each other. It has the typical Maybelline logo on it as well the name of the actual mascara itself. I love that the ‘Colossal’ part is enlarged to stress what the purpose of this macara is about. The lid also has a smoky effect to it by showing some smoke clouds. On the side of the lid, you’ll find a sticker that tells you the actual shade (Smoky Black/Noir Smoky) and how long the mascara lasts for.

dscn0244

dscn0247

The wand is slightly chunky and has furry bristles; as you can see, there are quite a lot of bristles on there! I don’t know about you but I tend to smell the mascara wand to find out what the scent of the product is like…is that odd?!. I found that it smells quite floral-like, the type of scent that instantly hits your nostrils as soon as walk in to a florists; very pleasant, by the way!

img_6954

img_6955

You can really see the difference in my eyelashes here in the before and after pictures. However, I do find that some of the mascara ends up on my eyelid or underneath my bottom lashes and I think this is due to the wand being chunky; if I take my time to apply the mascara, I can totally avoid the product ending up on or around my eye. Applying a lot of coats can leave your lashes looking quite clumpy but I don’t mind this at all as I like that look. I found that it held the curl in my lashes all day, from morning until night, and really gave off a false lash effect; it’s like your lashes but better.

Overall, I’m still a fan of this product from the first day I ever bought it, right up until now. Even though I love this mascara, it won’t stop me from purchasing other ones to try out; I guess I’m just addicted! If you really want your lashes looking volumized and to stand out from the crowd, then this mascara is definitely for you.


I hope you enjoyed reading this week’s blog post and please leave me a comment to let me know if you use this mascara or you would like to.

lisa-signature-2016

Facebook · Twitter · Instagram · Bloglovin’ · YouTube

5 thoughts on “Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara Review

Leave a Reply

